Anne Siegel

Anne Siegel

Research Director (DRCE), CNRS
Univ Rennes, Inria, CNRS, Irisa – Dyliss team
Campus de Beaulieu, 35042 Rennes Cedex, France.
Tel: +33 (0) 2 99 84 74 48

Short description

Anne Siegel is a research director at CNRS since 2010 and works at the IRISA lab, the Institut de recherche en informatique et systèmes aléatoires in the Bioinformatics Dyliss Group. Her research activities are focused on interfaces between computer sciences and biology: she develops symbolic methods for knowledge representation and integration, in order to analyse large-scale biological systems. She is also deputy scientific director at CNRS Informatics (INS2I).


CV   [detailed CV]

She is a former student of ENS Lyon, laureate of the agrégation of mathematics, and she obtained her phD in mathematics at the University of Aix-Marseille in 2000. She joined IRISA as a CNRS junior researcher (2002). From 2012 to 2019, she was the leader of the Dyliss team (bioinformatics, systems biology) in the lab. She served in different national committees (comité national du CNRS, inria evaluation committee) and was also involved in gender equality actions. Between 2019 and 2021, she has been the head of the department “Data and knowledge management” and worked as “chargée de mission” at CNRS-INS2I. Since 2021, she is Deputy Scientific Director at CNRS (CNRS Informatics).

Some recent interventions (science, gender equality…)


Ongoing responsibilities
  • Deputy scientific director at CNRS Informatics (INS2I), in charge of interdisciplinarity, interfaces with other disciplines, GDR, and gender equality,
Former responsibilities

Research projects

Contracts funded by institutions
  • Becycle (Ferments du futur)
  • Plant microbiomes (DeepImpact, PPR)
  • Algal metabolism (Seabioz, ANR)
  • Associated team France-Chile.
Former projects.
  • Prolific. Metabolism of fermented products.
  • Macro-alguae metabolism. ANR IDEALG. Investissement avenir bioressources et biotechnologies, 2011-2021
  • TGF-SysBio. Cancer and micro-environment. Plan CANCER. INSERM. 2015-2018.
  • Inria Project Lab AlgaeInSilico. 2014-2017.
  • CIRIC-omics research line of the Inria center in Chile. Equipe Associée Inria-Chile (2011-2016): web-site
  • Mecagenotox: modeling the toxicity of HAA. ANSES. 2013-2016.
  • Cyanobacteria diversity. ANR Samosa. 2014-2017.
  • Pea-aphid micro-RNA. ANR Mirnadapt. ANR Blanc SVE6 2011
  • Fatty acid regulation. ANR Fatinteger. ANR Blanc SVE7 2011.
  • Biotempo project, funded by ANR Blanc SIMI2 2010
  • PHC procope (2011-13)
  • Inria-Conycit IntegrativeBioChile (2011-2012);
  • PEPS-CNRS Quantoursin (2010-2011; IRISA, LINA, UMR Mer&Santé Roscoff);
  • ANR Sitcon (2006-09),
  • ANR DyCoNum (2006-09),
  • PHC Amadeus (2006-08), PHC SAKURA (2007-09),
  • ARC Moca (2006-07),
  • ACI MathResoGen (2003-06)


  • N. Robert (engineer, CNRS, started 2023)
  • M. Aulagner (phD, Inria, started 2023)
  • P. Hamon-Giraud (engineer, CNRs, started 2022)
  • V. Mataigne (engineer, CNRS, started 2022)
  • K. Thuillier (phD, CNRS, started 2021)
  • B. Ruiz (phD, Inrae/Inria, started 2021)
  • C. Raphalen (engineer, CNRS, Prolific program, 2020-2021)
  • A. Belcour (engineer then phD, Inria, 2019-2022)
  • P. Vignet (engineer then phD, Irset/Health dpt of univ, 2018-2021)
  • M. Louarn (phD, Inserm/Inria, 2017-2020)
  • M. Wery (phD, Ciffre Sanofi, 2017-2020)
  • M. Conan (phD, Irset/Health dpt of univ, 2017-2020)
  • C. Frioux (phD, Inria, 2015-2018, Researcher at Inria)
  • V. Delannée (phD, Région bretagne & ANSES, 2014-2017, NIH, Washington)
  • J. Laniau (phD, Inria, 2013-2017)
  • V. Picard (phD, Rennes 1/ENS, 2012-2015, Teacher in class preparatoires)
  • S. Prigent (phD, MNRT, 2011-2014, researcher at INRA Bordeaux)
  • S. Videla (phD, ANR Biotempo, 2011-2014. Engineer)
  • A. Aravena, (co-supervised chilean phD, 2010-2013. Assistant professor in Turkey)
  • O. Abdou-Arbi (phD, MnRT, 2010-2013. Assistant professor in Niger)
  • C. Guziolowski, (phD, defense: 2010. Assistant professor in Nantes.)
  • P. Veber (phD, defense: 2008. Research Engineer at CNRS in Lyon).
  • M. Aite (Engineer, ADT Inria and then CNRS/IDEALG, 2015-2019)
  • M. Chevallier (Engineer, ADT and then animation of Ecosyst network, 2014-2017)
  • C. Bettembourg (Post-doc, ADT Mirnadapt, 2014-2015, Sanofi R&D)
  • G. Collet (Post-doc/engineer, ANR Idealg, 2012-2015, Rennes university hospital)
  • O. Quenez (engineer, ANR Fatinteger, 2013, Rouen university hospital)
  • S. Thiele (post-doc, Inria, 2012-2013)
  • P. Blavy (phD, defense: 2010; co-supervised with S. Lagarrigue)
  • Post-doc : T. Baumuratova (2008-09, co-supervised with O. Radulescu)
  • Post-doc: S. Blachon (2008-09, co-supervised with O. Radulescu)


Comments are closed.